Book Review: I (& Giveaways!)

Sponsored

What does the book title “I” tells you?

CIMG9053

Summary

When I was a boy, I helped old woman cross the road, for it was dangerous for them to cross it by themselves. I’m not trying to show my friends that I’m kind.

When I was a student, I taught my classmates topics that they did not understand, for I wanted them to ace their examinations.
I’m not trying to impress the teachers.

When I was a working adult, I stayed back to help my colleagues complete their work, for we worked for the same company.
I’m not trying to gain a promotion.

When someone says that a dirty bomb is being planted in Singapore, I kill people to escape from it, for everyone is doing so
I’m not trying to survive.

Don’t deny. Don’t use your felicia to answer me.
Don’t, for I’m you.

I” is a pyschological thriller novel written by the local writer Low Kay Hwa. The book I is Low’s latest work and has been recently nominated for POPULAR’s Readers’ Choice Awards 2013.

So, this is the second book I’ve read from Low’s, the first one was his 10th published book A Singapore Love Story. If you are familiar with Low’s books, you should know that Low uses simple language for his novels. There’s nothing wrong with that because that is his style of writing.

I touches on a topic that many Singaporeans may have taken for granted – security. Gone were the days when there were bombings in Singapore, but what happens if there is a person or a terrorist group who releases a bomb before the police can crack down?

Other than the imaginary situation of Singapore, the book also explored on the theme of human nature, how we respond to our survival instincts when something happens. Now, we have all seen the photo of a broken window smashed by a fire extinguisher when SMRT broke down. Now the question is brought up to a higher level, will all hell breaks loose if there was really a bomb attack?

Screen Shot 2013-08-23 at 1.26.56 PM

One thing different about I from the usual novels that we read is the way how the chapters of the book are structured. The novel is written in different points of views of people, such as the protagonist Bryan, the antagonist Iago and many other characters in the book. If you read the chapter titles before starting, you will soon get the hang of how the plot flows.

While the language is fairly easy to comprehend, there are some technical terminologies from different disciplines that readers should note of while reading the book. It is very easy to get lost in the plot if the terms are not fully grasped.

However, despite the tricky points of views of I, it has a simple plot – who planted the bomb?

Overall, I is a fairly good read as the switching points of views makes it interesting for me to follow through as the story unfolds. I give it a 3.7/5.

If you are interested in reading I, you can get it in all major bookstores such as Popular, Times, MPH and Kinokuniya.

Alternatively, you can try to win it here because I have TWO copies of I for giveaway!

** GIVEAWAY **
Here is how you win it, comment below and state that you would like to win a copy of it.

You don’t have to stress yourself to come up with a reason to show me how badly you want the novel because this is not a competition. Save your brain cells for I instead. :P

The giveaway ends on 31st August 2013. Winners will be picked by a random number generator website and I will notify them through e-mail. So be sure to give me a valid e-mail address which you frequently checks. :)

** Vote for I **
AND… If you love the book so much that you think it deserves to win the POPULAR’s Readers’ Choice Award, vote for I at www.popular.com/readerschoice/! All voters stand a chance to win a $50 Popular voucher and a year membership with Popular bookstore!

