Saveur!

Last month, I was invited to a food tasting event to Saveur!

CIMG7813Saveur is located at Purvis Street, a stone throw away from the National Library building. In fact, Purvis Street situated right behind the building!

I first got to know Saveur through a show that Bryan Wong hosted and brought my girls over for a birthday lunch. Even though it wasn’t my first time dinning at Saveur, I was thrilled about the event because I got to try out almost all the dishes available on the menu!

This place is a restaurant that sells quality, yet affordable french cuisine! Hence, I believe I should properly introduce this great venue!

CIMG7814Saveur is still so packed even on weekdays!

CIMG7815

We had our bread and butter served with unsalted butter before the start of our meals. There’s a choice of either soft or hard rolls to choose from the menu.

Bread and Butter – $2
CIMG7824
Saveur’s Pasta – $4.90

I didn’t order this but took a bite to see how it taste like. It is a pasta that is tossed with chilli oil with Japanese Kombu (seaweed) and Sakura ebi (dried shrimps). I would suggest this to be shared among your friends, as the portion served is huge enough to become a main dish.

CIMG7825

Foie Gras – $9.90
Pan-seared duck liver served with apple-infused port wine and vanilla bean

There are two versions of this dish but I ordered the one with port wine. This dish is a little on the sour side because of the apple-infused port wine, but it is an excellent pairing with the crunchy apple slices added.

CIMG7827

Duck Salad – $5.90

Loved this dish! The duck confit, orange segments, quail egg and cherry tomatoes mix really well together. Personally I hate the taste of raw vegetables, but this is just right because of their homemade lemon vinaigrette.

CIMG7828

Duck Leg Confit – $10.90

The first time I went to Saveur, I tried one of their popular mains – Duck Leg Confit. Tender meat paired with orange slices and sauteed Shitake mushroom instantly made this dish my favourite. But the second time I visited Saveur, this duck leg confit is a little salty.

CIMG7833

Pork Belly – $10.90

If you are a friend of pork belly and soft boil eggs, you’ve got to order this to try. I ordered this during my second visit to Saveur. The pork belly skin is crispy and the meat is tender and juicy. I don’t like soft boil eggs but it pairs well with the green lentils.

CIMG7836

Pistachio Panna Cotta – $6.90

I would recommend this to people who dislike sweet desserts!

CIMG7843

Texture of Citrus – $6.90

This dish kept us guessing with the different kinds of citrus used! Blood orange jelly (red ones in this picture) served with orange granité, freeze-dried pineapple, feuilletine, citrus segments, and lime zests.

CIMG7844

Chocolate & Hazelnut – $7.90

Every chocolate lover should love this as it is chocolate mousse with crushed hazelnuts, broken raspberries, roasted rice puffs, chocolate tuile & praline. However I find it a little sweet and I feel “jerlat” (sick) after eating a few spoonful of it.

CIMG7846

5 Purvis Street,
Talib Court #01-04,
Singapore 188584

http://www.saveur.sg/

4 thoughts on “Saveur!

  1. Carrie says:

    Saveur is like super top of mind these days! Everyone I know is talking about it. Trying to find a date to visit the place but I heard queues are outrageously long because the food is excellent and price is reasonable. Hungry looking at your post!

Leave a Reply

